Do I gloat or cry

Since 1998, pro cycling has been the dirty sport.  The sport of cheats.  I have endured many an evening of good natured ribbing by my friends.  My retort was to say that just because you don’t look for a problem, does not mean it does not exist.  My logic was always that if people cheat in cycling, wouldn’t they cheat to a greater extent in sports such as baseball and football where the stakes and rewards were much higher?

Today, there is a well written article from Steven Goldman at SB Nation talking about the first in what should be a series of suspensions by Major League baseball.  It seems there is enough evidence in the Biogenesis investigation to possibly make this the MLB version of Operation Puerto.  Ryan Braun who beat a positive test to keep his 2011 National League MVP will not contest the evidence against him this time.

I would suggest you read the article.  I sense an undertone of “not my kid” here.  As a parent, we all know kids do bad things.  When we see a kid get in trouble, we have the urge to look down our nose at their family and say “Well, I always knew Johnny was a bad kid.  His parents must not have raised him right.”  Then when the police call your house, there is a narcissistic feeling about “How could this happen to me?”

Read this column and see if there is that feeling.  See if Mr. Goldman is saying “I get cycling look at them.  But how could this happen to baseball?”

I think I’ll cry with Mr. Goldman and let him know it happens to all families er… sports.

Leave a Reply

