A stroll down memory lane

” You’ll look back on this and laugh”  is an expression that is true but always delivered at the most inappropriate time.  I had such a laugh while working in the basement this morning.  After doing some pre holiday assembly, I cleaned up the trash from my project.  That led to cleaning off my little work bench of various items that once had some useful purpose.  Out went some old cleat parts, shims, and several retired toothbrushes that served well as surrogate chain brushes.

Finally, I opened a few boxes to look at the contents for possible disposal.  There they were forgotten for many years.  An old pair of Look pedals.  These pedals probably weigh more than most bikes these days.  These pedals have a story that can now be told.

One day many, many years ago, my wife made a comment that she might like to take a ride with me sometime.  So excited was I that I immediately took her bike out, cleaned the dust off, cleaned and re-lubed everything.  I even replaced the tires which had begun to dry rot.  When buying the tires at the shop, I saw a pair of Look pedals on clearance.  I bought those too with some shoes also on sale.  I mean, she wants to ride, right?  Clipless pedals enhance the riding experience?  Right?

I mapped out the flattest course I could so we could enjoy our couple’s ride. Mimimal traffic, trees, singing birds, right out of a Disney movie.  Since we had skied a few times, I figured clipping in and out would be a natural movement for her to learn.  A quick lesson confirmed that and off we went.

We chatted as we began to roll out of our development.  We came to the stop sign at the end and I saw it all in slow motion.  The wobble, the tipping, the fall.  A neighbor leaving the development just happened to arrive at the worst moment possible.  “Are you all right?”  “Yes” was the response and the neighbor sped away.  I can’t describe the look I was given.  Maybe Stephen King can.  “Get these #*^%&#@ things off my bike.”

I tried to explain that getting used to clipless pedals took a little time.  No response.  I tried to encourage her to push on and finish the ride.  Nope.  On the way back, I said she would look back on this and laugh.  Another Stephen King look.  I replaced the pedals and put the bike back in storage.  We have since had kids and have gone out with them a few times but no more husband and wife outings. 

Do you think she’d like a Tandem?

3 Responses to A stroll down memory lane

  1. LOL! I’m looking back on this post and laughing myself! Great story – I’m going to share it with the Mrs. Maybe it’ll make her feel better…

  2. Swan says:

    I was heading for the registration desk at my first ever race and followed the exact same process. A race organizer happened to be standing right there. He looked at me on the ground like I was out of my mind and said “can I help you?” “Yes, I’d like to register for the Cat 5″. He just smiled and said “I figured that”. I know sort of how your wife felt. That first race I was so intent on not crashing into anyone that I didn’t even realize the race was over until a few hundred yards after the bunch finish. :)

  3. vicp says:

    Warning!!!
    Clipless pedals are very dangerous.
    I’ve been riding bicycles continuously since I was 5. Have even commuted to work year-round in suburb north of NYC, Had been using Shimno clipless pedals for about 10 years and had several occasions when I couldn’t release from the pedal and dumped over. The last time, at age 58, caused my right hip to fracture. I needed 2 surgeries and 6 months of rehab.
    Needless to say I took them off my Trek and will never use them again.
    The Pain was not worth the gain.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

