I hate this time of year

It’s the most wonderful time of the year
With the kids jingle belling
And everyone telling you “Be of good cheer”
It’s the most wonderful time of the year
It’s the hap-happiest season of all
With those holiday greetings and gay happy meetings
When friends come to call
It’s the hap- happiest season of all – Andy Williams

For many, this is the season of joy.  An internal glow begins around Thanksgiving and continues to grow until the New Year dawns.  For me, it signals doom.  Why?  I’ll give you the reason.

The Trainer

Sometime during late fall, daylight is too short to accommodate both work and cycling.  Then the weekends begin to get progressively cooler.  Then the realization hits.  I have not really ridden in a while.  That must mean (cue music) It is time for the trainer.  There are two seasons.  Cycling season and Trainer season.

trainer

Take the bike to the basement.  Remove the rear skewer and replace with the trainer skewer.  Playing over and over in my head is Doug Hutchinison’s character from The Green Mile saying. “Walking the mile, walking the mile.”

I’ve tried to decorate my cell with items that remind me about life on the outside.  I have videos to pass the time.  A bird in a guilded cage is still a captive  and he knows it.

Time to start counting the days until Cycling season starts again.

4 Responses to I hate this time of year

  1. Gene Nacey says:

    Hey Jim, even the most addicted cyclist has to “walk the mile” indoors now and then. As a fellow addict (I feel like I’m in an AA meeting) I know how hard that is. In fact, that’s why I started my company Global Ride to create something to ride to while I train indoors. I started it 18 months ago filming in Hawaii, and we just released our first series of DVDs this week. Check us out; I think you’ll find it a little easier to “suffer” inside with these. http://www.cyclingfusion.com

  2. Al says:

    Wow, what part of the country do you live in? Yesterday I cleared 10 inces of snow and today looks like another 8. Speak for yourself, brother. If you don’t learn to embrace the Trainer, it will consume and destroy you.

    Maybe it’s time you improved your location from a “cell” to a “workout room”. I liberated myself from the basement with little more than a trainer mat. Make it a multimedia experience – TV, DVD, CD, iPod, whatever. It makes a foot of snow, 10 degrees F and 4 months til spring a hell of a lot more bearable.

    Besides, you just might improve your fitness and waistline in the process.

  3. pelotonjim says:

    Interesting site Gene. Thanks. Al, I know I need to face the facts that riding the Trainer is part of the package and I willingly take the good with the bad.

  4. I’d say “Great Post” – but it’s too depressing.

    Well-written though! Here’s to a SHORT Trainer Season!

    FWIW, I try to mix it up with rollers. ANYthing to break the monotony!

Leave a Reply

