Book Review

While waiting for my copy of Dope: A History of Performance Enhancement in Sports from the Nineteenth Century to Today written by Rant our Head Off  author, Daniel Rosen, I took the opportunity to engage in a little light reading with Roadie: The Misunderstood World of a Bike Racer.

Author Jamie Smith and illustrator Jeff Mallett have teamed up to take a look at all the quirks and ticks that make up a cycling fanatic.  While the title suggests a focus on bike racing, there is much to enjoy if you are a fanatical cyclist who may not race. 

To be honest, the book is actually written for your spouse/friend/family who love you even though they don’t quite get you and your passion.  I have to admit, while reading, I asked my wife a couple of times “Do I do that?” knowing full well that I do.  For example, your loved one will understand that we all have a emotional attachment to that water bottle we got on vacation in 1996 when we wandered into the bike shop while you were getting coffee. 

With the Tour de France upon us, I will be firmly ensconced on our couch yelling at the paltry coverage of Vs while my wife will be thinking the opposite.  Occasionally, she and the kids will join me but will not see the things that are so obvious to me.  This is a great companion book for those moments.  The humor keeps the reader/novice interested while educating on the tactics of racing. 

All in all, it is a very enjoyable read that will take your mind from the headlines and bring you back to the reasons you fell in love with the sport in the first place.

Leave a Reply

