Lance betters his marathon time

Lance Armstrong shaved approximately 10 minutes off his 2006 NYC Marathon time. He was able to take advantage of better knowledge of what it takes to run a marathon along with ideal weather with the temp in the mid 50’s under sunny skies.

Way back when, I ran a few marathons. The first marathon is really the hardest both mentally and physically. My second marathon over the same course showed an improvement of about 40 minutes. After about a decade of hard-core running, I found the bike and the rest is history. I have not looked back at running since then.

It seems that Lance may be following the opposite path. He was quoted in cycling news as saying that he is enjoying running as his main form of working out.

“For me running is the best type of workout right now because with a busy lifestyle and travel, all you need is a pair of running shoes and you can do it in any city in the world.”

Here is where I have to disagree a little. For us mere mortals, lugging a bike to our local airport, then to the hotel, then trying to find a place to ride is an extremely difficult task at best. But for Lance Armstrong? First, he does not fly commercial, he probably does not need to take his own bike. Even if he did, I don’t see him taking it apart, packing a box, and lugging the bike to his plane.

And for finding a route. He’s Lance Armstrong! I’m sure he could easily find a contact in any corner of the world who would be happy to provide route suggestions.

I have a good friend who’s only claim to fame is she is friends with Meg Ryan (they grew up together). One day, many years ago, Meg and she were talking on the phone. During the conversation, Meg tried to find common ground because both were struggling as working mothers. My friend finally said that Meg did not know what is was like to be a real working mother. First of all, Meg worked about three months out of the year. Second, she had nannies, trainers, and other ‘help.’

Thanks for trying to be one of us, Lance. Face it, you’re not. And that’s OK.

One Response to Lance betters his marathon time

  1. Rob Hartsock says:

    Ok, this is the third thing that I have against LA at this time. The first was bailing on the world of cycling when we need him most. Chris Horner said it best when he said that LA makes a name for himself, millions of dollars and endorsements and sets himself up for a couple of lifetimes, and right when the sport needs him the most with the drug scandals and all, he ups and leaves, abandons Discovery as they search for a sponsor. Really, Lance has abandoned us, and for what? Hanging out with starlets almost half his age (trading spit with that skeloton Mary Kate? Ugg. Where are kids, huh? As a father, you have little shame, LA) then he becomes a runner? Lance, you piss me off.
    And, yea, stars have no idea of what it is like to live in the real world. Everytime that I see a tabloid at the store about so-and-so lossing X amount of weight and SO CAN YOU, I think “yea, if I had a trainer and personal chef and only worked three months a year, I would be gorgeous all the time” Of course I am gourgeous all the time, but that’s all together off topic. The point is, I get sick of actors and others telling me what I need to do, what car I need to drive, how much I need to pay in taxes… they dont know what its like, really they dont. And I am looking at you, Al Gore.
    OK, this is getting long…. I’ll save the rest for my own blog post.
    I love your blog, and will be back later.

Leave a Reply

