Another rest day, another opportunity.

So far all has been quiet here in the square.  All the better.  This Tour needs to stand on it’s own as it has provided the right antidote to the negative media coverage.  We are on the final rest day.  These are the days when the media are primed to run with a story.  I fear this may provide a forum if the USADA wanted to make a big splash.  That fear is tempered by the foot dragging which lends hope that the USADA wants a quiet way out of this mess.  To me that bodes well.

thumb10.jpg

6 Responses to Another rest day, another opportunity.

  1. Ed says:

    Agreed Jim. I think they want to save face and can’t find an opportune time to do it.

  2. D says:

    I was just looking at Eurosport. The top cycling story was very nearly “the worst possible scenario”. It’s Astana, and it’s (allegedly) Vino. Fortunately, Floyd Landis already has a following and people who have listened to his case, because people who didn’t already suffer from doping scandal fatigue and bike racing apathy might come down with it now.

  3. D says:

    I must be tired, I misplaced the first line of my comment. Which was, “But what can USADA get away with now?”– now that another major Tour de France rider stands accused, how many more people just won’t care to listen anymore? And if the people don’t care, the bureaucrats and politicians have no reason to fix the system.

  4. M. says:

    I’d been waiting for something to happen. Especially with all the Rasmussen talk. I’m not sure I would have picked Vino. As much as I would love to leap to the “well, that explains the time trial” thing, I’ll wait till the B-sample comes back.

  5. Ed says:

    I am without speech!

    Is it possible that AV is that stupid, or stupidly single-minded I should say, that he would take a blood transfusion the day before a stage? The taking of a blood transfusion at all, alone condemns AV for me. Why else would you do something like that? Receiving a transfusion is indicative of guilt beyond a reasonable doubt if you ask me.

    Which brings up a question: Is transfusion the primary way that riders dope? If so, I never heard that Floyd had two different kinds of RBC’s in his blood.

    I’m going to do my best to not let this dampen my enthusiasm for the epic battle between Rasmussen and Contador but it’ll be hard not to get distracted and lose appreciation for what those two guys are doing.

    Cycling better clean up it’s act…and soon. If AV is dirty, and he probably is based on the team pull-out, nobody can blame the idiot Dick Pound and WADA. This is all on Astana and AV.

  6. pelotonjim says:

    I don’t know how much more this sport can take

Leave a Reply

