Unibet.com not out of the Vuelta…yet

Dead Collector: Bring out yer dead.
Large Man: Here’s one.
Dead Collector: Ninepence.
Dead Body: I’m not dead!
Dead Collector: What?
Large Man: Nothing. Here’s your ninepence.
Dead Body: I’m not dead!
Dead Collector: ‘Ere, he says he’s not dead.
Large Man: Yes he is.
Dead Body: I’m not!
Dead Collector: He isn’t.
Large Man: Well, he will be soon, he’s very ill.
Dead Body: I’m getting better!
Large Man: No you’re not, you’ll be stone dead in a moment.
Dead Collector: Well, I can’t take him like that. It’s against regulations.
Dead Body: I don’t want to go on the cart!
Large Man: Oh, don’t be such a baby.
Dead Collector: I can’t take him.
Dead Body: I feel fine!
Large Man: Oh, do me a favor.
Dead Collector: I can’t.
Large Man: Well, can you hang around for a couple of minutes? He won’t be long.
Dead Collector: I promised I’d be at the Robinsons’. They’ve lost nine today.
Large Man: Well, when’s your next round?
Dead Collector: Thursday.
Dead Body: I think I’ll go for a walk.
Large Man: You’re not fooling anyone, you know. Isn’t there anything you could do?
Dead Body: I feel happy. I feel happy.
[The Dead Collector glances up and down the street furtively, then silences the Old Man with a whack of his club]
Large Man: Ah, thanks very much.
Dead Collector: Not at all. See you on Thursday.
Large Man: Right.
Monty Python and the Holy Grail 1975

Unipublic, Grand Tour organizer number three, has made it’s decision on Unibet.com. They are almost out. The organizer of the Vuelta a Espana delivered his rebuke of the embattled ProTour team albeit with a velvet hammer.

Victor Cordero laid out the high hurdle required to be invited to the final Grand Tour of the season by saying:

“Unibet is not in our plans, but fortunately, as we are not forced by the rules to give the wildcards on March 1 like last year, we can wait up to three months, until the end of May, beginning of June before we decide. The last word it is not yet said. If Unibet has all its legal problems solved, if it improves the performances and conditions of the other six candidates…it is not Unibet alone, we have six candidatures for riding the Vuelta a España. We will make the decision mainly based on sporting criteria. Up to today, I don’t see Unibet in the Vuelta.”

Let’s take another look. Unibet has to get it’s legal affairs in order. Is he talking about the legal affairs as a result of the Grand Tour snub? Mr. Cordero also said they need to improve their performance. Where? Paris-Nice, Tirreno-Adriatico, Milan-San Remo, Giro dItalia? The ASO and RCS Sport have blocked them out of the most prestegious races of the year so where will they get results?

It looks like Unipublic is trying to make it look like Unibet.com will get a fair shake when the decision has already been made. See you on Thursday I have to go to the Robinson’s.

One Response to Unibet.com not out of the Vuelta…yet

  1. Hilarious! I’ve always loved that scene – but I never thought to apply it to Unibet. Perfectly apt. As John Cleese would say – RIGHT!

Leave a Reply

