Well, I did it. I took a mistress.

I’ve been married for 20 years and up until today, I’ve had a perfect record with the big promises I made back in 1986. I promised to love (still do), Honor (Yup), obey (I will if I know what’s good for me), in sickness and in health (been there), for richer and poorer (I think I just moved us closer to pooer) till death do us part (see obey).

Now, faithful was never overtly mentioned that day but it was clearly understood to be part of the bargain. I would apologize for straying but I’m not sorry. In fact, my wife seems OK with the idea.

Her name is Cervelo R3. I dated the Orbea Orca, BMC, Wilier, and her sister SLC-SL. After having quite a good time playing the field, I settled on the R3. Here is a picture.

r3.png

Pretty isn’t she? In order to take her out on the town, I didn’t like the earrings she was wearing so we picked up a pair of Fulcrum Racing1 earrings to wear around town.

racing1-rear.jpg

She says she is over her brief fling with Fabian Cancellera. She said it was Paris and she lost hear head. By the time they got to Roubaix she knew it was not going to work.

I pick her up on the 30th and I am already counting the minutes until I see her again. I have to thank the great guys at Cadence Performance Cycling for fixing us up. On a serious note, I had heard of their reputation for expert fitting when hanging around the Philadelphia USPRO races the past few years. Many of the pros from domestic squads and European Teams like CSC would stop by for a checkup. When I got there, I was also treated like a pro. The final fitting will take 2 – 3 hours to dial in everything from brake position to cleats. I think I received better fitting attention than my wife did for her wedding dress!

It is well worth the 1 1/2 hour drive from the New York metro area where I live. These guys are good. And discrete. No comments on having the rider lose weight before focusing on the bike. Now I have to sell the kids on the local community college. It does have a good reputation.

4 Responses to Well, I did it. I took a mistress.

  1. Daniel M says:

    Congratulations, Jim. Sounds like a worthy steed. And also a great shop to buy from.

    Good luck selling your kids on the community college. 😉

    – Rant

  2. Debby says:

    She’s beautiful! I hope you have many happy years together.

  3. I’m late – but no less enthusastic – in offering my hearty CONGRATULATIONS! The Cervelo is an absolutely gorgeous bike and it looks like she’s being “accessorized” nicely. I bet you’re already losing sleep like a kid on Christmas Eve. Looking forward to some pics of the maiden voyage! (nothing like mixing metaphors LOL!)

  4. […] and $8,500.  I plan on winning one of these.  Which one?  Well, my car has 78,000 miles and my bike is just a year old.  So the choice is […]

Leave a Reply

