My biggest mistake, looking back now, was not requesting a public hearing.

That quote was given by Tyler Hamilton in a interview in the upcoming issue of Outside magazine. Outside Online is publishing exerpts of its interview with Hamilton. Among some of the notable quotes:

“I believe in Floyd. I believe he didn’t do this. I believe he’s innocent. And I hope everything’s going to work out, and I think it will be great for the sport of cycling. ”

Tyler also talks about the USADA process, his “rookie” mistakes, and his support for out of competition drug testing.

“If someone’s going to dope, they’re going to do it between races. Unless they have a few screws loose, they’re not going to dope at the races. So if you’re going to catch the cheaters, you’re going to catch them when they’re at home or wherever.

Most of the Outside interviews have shied away from the tough questions in the past. My expectations is this will be a little soft as well. That said, I also think it will be worth the cover price.

Leave a Reply

