Getting Ready for Spring

Where did the time go? This is the time of year where I pour through some cycling books in an attempt to keep the passion at a high level. After I’m done reading, I will give you my feedback as I have done in the past such as here and here.

This winter, I seem to have forgotten my formula as I have been enjoying some biographies. Well, that will change. I have just ordered The Art of Cycling: A Guide to Bicycling in 21st Century America. It has gotten good reviews from Amazon so I’m looking forward to reading it. I want to thank The Suitcase of Courage blog for the idea. By the way, nice site.

My goal is to read books that highlight the romance of cycling. Reminding me what I left behind when I retreated to the trainer inside my hibernation den. I need to remember the burn of a long tough climb and the descent that follows.

What are you reading?

4 Responses to Getting Ready for Spring

  1. Iain says:

    For passion it’s got to be The Rider by Tim Krabbe. As you have mentioned previously it’s a classic and one that I can read again and again. Graeme Fife’s “Tour De France: The History, the Legend, the Riders” is also a great read to highlight the romance.

  2. Chris says:

    I must agree with you about “The Rider.” That was (I think) the first cycling novel I ever read and, like most good books, I can remember exactly where I was during each scene of the book. It really ignited a passion for racing – and I did my first road race ever a little over a year after reading it. I read “The Yellow Jersey” too and enjoyed it, though it was less satisfying (I thought the main character was a little obnoxious). “The Race” was good enough for me to get the sequel (“The Tour” – but I haven’t read it yet) but it was a little pat. “The Long Season” by Bruno Schull is a true story of a young guy trying to upgrade. Got tired of his whining about getting too old and not getting enough points (he’s in his early 20s at the time).

    On deck, I have “Le Tour: A History of the Tour de France” and “Two Wheels” by Greg Moody – a bicycle mystery (book one of a series).

    Oh – and re romance ON a bike rather than ABOUT the bike, I recommend “The Wheels of Chance – A Cycling Idyll” by none other than HG Wells. A nice romance taking place in the 1890s – at the dawn of the bicycle age and when cycling was THE most popular mode of transportation. Not a Harlequin, don’t worry, but a nice diversion into a simpler time.

    I could go on, but you get the idea. I hope to post reviews of all these on my blog at some point. Thanks very much for the compliment, BTW. I don’t mind admitting that the inspiration for my banner came from your banner!

  3. Chris says:

    (just read your other reviews, but didn’t know if I should comment there or here…)

    “Heft on Wheels” – YES! I thought that was a great book – I think Magnuson is hilarious and I really admire how he turned his life around, then had the talent to describe it so well.

    And it’s funny you mentioned the “Dancing on the Pedals” book as bathroom reading – I got that for Christmas and it’s in ‘the office’ as we speak(!)

    After reading your review, I’m more looking forward to reading Shields’ “The Tour” – it’s been a while since I read his first (“The Race”) and had forgotten how great his descriptions are.

    Thanks for posting such good reviews – there are a few here I hadn’t heard of and a few I’d been thinking about and now will definitely add to my list-to-get.

    PS – I’ll be interested to hear what you think about “The Art of Cycling”

  4. pelotonjim says:

    Thanks for the suggestions. I think “The Rider” should be mandatory. In fact, a copy should be handed out with every bike sold.

Leave a Reply

