Just in time!

January 18, 2007

After the last month of feasting like there was no tomorrow, I am slooowly getting serious about getting back into shape. I have found a site that promises to help me along my path to recovery. Actually, Jesper found me.

The site is Cycling Training Tips and is run by a med student with a passion for cycling. Even though I don’t have high tech equipment like a power meter, I still use a heart rate monitor and find most of the posts very helpful. I recommend this site to everyone except those who are currently beating me on my Thursday evening rides.

Wow, that was quick

January 18, 2007

The first two stages of Tour Down Under are complete with many already calling the race over. I guess that is to be expected in a short stage race with no time trials or mountains.

Stage 1 allowed a small breakaway group to take the stage with the main peloton extending their holiday by taking in the scenery of Austraila. The stage was won by Aussie Karl Menzies (UniSA). Martin Elmiger (AG2r Prévoyance) and Lars Bak (CSC) rounded out the podium.

Stage 2 was fairly well controlled by UniSA team allowing a break to form that was no threat to his overall lead. The stage was a Belgian Chocolate feast with a pair of Chocolade Jacques (Steven Caethoven and Pieter Ghyllebert from Belgium) taking the first two steps of the podium. The final step was Stuart O’Grady (CSC) flying the hometown colors.

This race may be over, but the season has only just begun!