Today is the first day of the rest of your life

I heard that quite a bit growing up.  Recently, my mantra has been, “I can’t believe I ate the whole thing.”  I know I have been very spotty with my posts recently but I’d like to offer up the following as evidence in my case.  We just completed a three week stage race that rivals any of the grand tours.  Call this one the Tour de Gastronomy.  My role was the dutiful soigner to my wife the Directeur Sportif.

You know my hobby, well my wife’s hobby is cooking.  This spring when we completed a complete renovatioon of the kitchen, little did I know what was in store come holiday season.

Stage 1: Bunco.  A seemingly easy opening stage, Beth had her Bunco crowd over for a holiday version of the “game.”  As soigner, I helped make sure all musettes and bidons were filled for all the team cars that came to the feed zone.  Of course, part of the soigner’s job is quality control.  All food was thoroughly tested prior to being placed in the musette bags.

Stage 2: NYC.  Not a lot of work for the soigner except driving my parents into the city in the team car.  We took them to dinner and a show and stayed the night in order to tour the windows, tree, and other stuff.  While the workload was low we managed to consume quite a bit of calories to store for later use.

Stage 3: The in-laws.  After the easy, the tour headed for the mountains.  There was plenty of prep work for the Directeur and the soigner.  Lots of musette bags and plenty of bidons were used during this stage. 

Stage 4: My side.  I’m one of 5 so there were plenty of siblings and little ones.  The adults required multiple bidons and musette bags prepared by the Directeur and handed out in the feed zone.  The bidons were in great demand.

Stage 5: Rutgers.  I’m a Temple University grad but if you are anywhere in the vicinity, Rutgers is the topic of the year.  It turns out that we have quite a few Rutgers alumni in the neighborhood.  When the local cable company got in a spat with the NFL network over the game, we jumped in.  Many years ago, we switched to DirectTv since they had a fledgling cable channel OLN which showed cycling.  Now, we were the ones with the NFL network and the bowl game.  This turned out to be the queen’s stage.

Today, I decided to begin the ardous process of shedding the extra adipose tissue.  I am in fear of riding in my red shirt since I may be mistaked for another man on vacation this time of year.  I also am afraid of weraing my grey and black gear as a well-meaning member of Green Peace may try to take me to the shoreline to rejoin my pod.

Wish me luck!

Does anyone know if any of the following has been added to the doping list?  If so, I fear for the off season test.

  • trans fat
  • tannins
  • cheese metabolites
  • hops
  • single malt
6 Responses to Today is the first day of the rest of your life

  1. Daniel M says:

    You’ll probably get some grief if you include too many tannins, hops and single-malt in your training diet. But by the time you’re down to racing weight and the season begins in earnest, most of the traces should be out of your system. Perhaps. 😉

    Good luck with the Tour de Adipose Tissue. I’m afraid I’m in the same boat.

    – Rant

  2. pelotonjim says:

    On the positive note, I’m wearing less layers, more natural insulation!

  3. Debby says:

    My husband and I are on the trainer (me) and the new rollers (him) most nights — probably only a few pedal strokes ahead from the all the cookies we’ve been trying to “clean up” out of the cabinets. He went out for a bone-chilling ride this morning, and is doing hill climbs, but that’s probably because of these two dreaded words: birthday cake. Day after tomorrow.

    PJ, I wanted to ask you about your cycling tv post. We hook up our laptop to the big TV in the living room and have been watching all the free races we can so as not to go into withdrawl. Conserving the Christmas DVDs (Paris-Nice 2006 and Sunday in Hell) for emergency situations. We are thinking of subscribing to the cycling tv to get all of the good races. Do they offer Tour of California and Tour of Georgia? Or only the European and Australian races? Do you get many more races with the subscription? We don’t have cable (or Versus) so I’m just trying to get a sense of what is the best option for the most races. I was very excited to read that NBC will be showing Tour of Virginia, I think in April, which is the first cycling race broadcast on a major channel in the U.S. Since 1996. 🙂

  4. pelotonjim says:

    For me, the price was well worth it. I don’t know if the Tours of California or Georgia are included (I don’t think so). I did have to pay extra for the Grand Tours but with the ability to download coming as part of the package, I am loving it.

  5. Debby says:

    Thank you. I guess there really is no way to see the U.S. races on TV or internet?

  6. pelotonjim says:

    Well, don’t give up yet. Cycling.tv was able to negotiate the internet rights for the Tour de France from OLN. I think the agreement was a win-win. I’m sure there are some meetings going on to do the same with the US stage races. I’d drop a note to Cycling.tv with your request. Let them know there is a demand.

Leave a Reply

