Basso doing the double?

Ivan Basso, reigning Giro d’Italia champ, seems set on accomplishing the double this year by competing in both the Giro and the Tour de France. He spoke to reporters at the 2007 route announcement the other day.

“I’ve been cleared of any wrongdoing by the sports authorities. All I can think about now is of being competitive for the Giro and Tour.”

Basso is on his way to Austin Texas to begin his training as a member of the 2007 Discovery Channel squad.

“To all of them I want to say one thing: wait until I return to the major stage races to see what I’m capable of. It is the only possible way of showing that my implication in Spain was a total nonsense. My name has never appeared in this Spanish investigation.”

cover.jpg

Leave a Reply

