Tyler confirms two key decisions

First, his own future. CyclingNews reports that Tyler has confirmed his signing with Continental team Tinkoff Credit Systems. This was the worst kept secret in cycling but it is now official. You will also note the change in color scheme on his website. Like Floyd Landis, gone is the green and yellow Phonak colors. One interesting part of the article was this quote from Hamilton:

“I made a mistake and the price that I had to pay was very high”

No follow up on what mistake was the object of the reference. Was it the decision to fight, his attorney, or…….

The second decision made this weekend. My new ride. I have been between an Orbea and a Cervelo. The photo below reveals a lot.

img_0045.jpg

Tyler Hamilton competed in a team triathlon on November 15th. Notice that Tyler is on a Cervelo. Even though he is a few years away from his time with CSC. I’m sure his garage is filled with bikes. He rode a BMC machine to gold in 2004, I’ve seen him pictured on custom frames but when it counted, he pulled out the Cervelo.

So come spring, I hope to be on the new SLC-SL. I know he is on the TT machine and Tyler may have chosen differently if it was a road stage, or a climb. But don’t talk to me any more, my mind is made up. I mean it. I’m sure. Once I make up my mind, there is no changing it now. I’m completely committed. I think.

slc-sl.png

4 Responses to Tyler confirms two key decisions

  1. tbv says:

    Ah, a vote for brutal engineering efficiency. You have chosen intelligently instead of passionately.

    TBV

  2. pelotonjim says:

    Thanks. I’m going to use that in my presentation to the Board of Directors at the house.

  3. Daniel M says:

    Perhaps you should ride both bikes and see which one feels most comfortable and more closely fits your riding style. That was the advice I always gave people when I worked at Cycle Cellar in Ann Arbor (unfortunately they’re no longer in business).

    – Rant

  4. pelotonjim says:

    Thanks for the advice. I’ve been on a Cervelo never an Orbea. I can’t wait to go shopping!

Leave a Reply

