Tour de Georgia announces route

The Dodge Ford Tour de Georgia announces dates and route and presenting sponsor. First, the Georgia Department of Economic Development (GDEcD), the business recruitment and tourism agency for the state is the presenting sponsor. This is a great step forward showing confidence that cycling can show off the best a state has to offer. My hat’s off to the progressive thinking members of the State of Georgia. On our yearly trek to Savannah, I’ll be sure to drop a few extra coins into the states economy in support of the State’s efforts.

headerimage08.jpg

Now the dates. Tour de Georgia, scheduled to run from April 16 to 22, 2007. The we start in Peachtree City GA just outside of Atlanta and ending in Macon. From there, the course travels through the northern parts of the state making sure to highlight the Georgia’s park system. Of course, the Brasstown Bald will remain as the Queen’s stage. There is also an individual time trial ending at the top of Lookout Mountain.

Stage 6 ends at Stone Mountain National Park right outside of Atlanta. Brief piece of history. Last April, my kids set a world record (sort of) at Stone Mountain. They took park in the world’s largest Easter Egg hunt. We currently have an official copy of the 2007 Guinness Book of World’s records to prove it.

Anyway, with Atlanta being the hub of the Tour de Georgia, there should be some good crowds cheering on the riders. A successful tour will go a long way in getting a couple (Georgia and California) listed as ProTour events.

2 Responses to Tour de Georgia announces route

  1. Theresa says:

    Ok, Jim, great explanation of the route for Georgia. I’ve been on Martin Dugard’s blog, with, I think, 3 different posting regarding the Tour of Georgia. All different things I thought of at different times, but in all, I’m excited about this year’s course. (Even though Marty thinks it’s a bit small-time, but, I set him straight!) I hate to repeat myself, since I lost track of all my ramblings, I was quite the Chatty Cathy. See http://www.martindugard.com if anyone cares what I said! And, by the way, things were lively today, with even peleton jim chiming in with your 2 cents worth!

  2. pelotonjim says:

    Theresa,

    Just back from Martin Dugard’s blog. Your keyboard myst be smoking. For a 7 day race, I think the Tour de Georgia is a good course. If you want to talk about boring courses, look at the Tour de France!

Leave a Reply

