USADA and UCI joined at the hip

November 5, 2006

In a story on the comprehensive site for the Floyd Landis case, Trust but Verify, came a disturbing quote.

First, let me give you some perspective on my part. I have said before that we should follow the process and work forwards from the evidence rather than backwards from a conclusion. If done right, then I will accept whatever comes. Punish or praise, no matter who is involved. I have also said that I don’t know Floyd personally so I can’t say what he would do when given the choice of letting the Tour de France slip away or cheating. Therefore, I want a fair process so I can know if he has had an opportunity to present his side of the story.

I feel that he is being railroaded into a predetermined conclusion that is more politically based than fact based. This has given me cause to believe Floyd’sstory because you don’t railroad someone if you have truth and evidence on your side.

That said, the quote that disturbs me is from the USADA:

“please consider this the only response to your requests that you sent to both the USADA and the UCI.”

Does this mean the USADA is working with the UCI? If so, I have grave doubts that the outcome will be fair.


Is Lance a mere mortal?

November 5, 2006

Remember the first time Michael Jordan retired? He wanted to try baseball. Well he did and he was better than most people by making it to the minor leagues. But he wasn’t Michael Jordan. He was human.

Today, Lance returned to his triathalon days by running. He ran the New York Marathon. He did better than most finishing in under three hours (2:59:36) but a very human fifty minutes behind the winner Marilson Gomes dos Santos of Brazil who won in 2:09:58.

Lance even gave a very human press conference by saying:

“In 20 years of pro sports and endurance sports, even the worst days on the Tour, nothing felt like that or left me the way I feel now.”

Then again, do humans who enter the NYC Marathon have a number like his running with Alberto Salazar off his right shoulder?

061105_armstrong_vlrg_1030awidec.jpg

In other NYC Marathon news, Endless Cycle Favorite, Martin Dugard finished in 3:35:32. Congratulations!


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers