The real loser on Sunday

Erik Zabel finished second again on Sunday. This was probably his last real shot at wearing the rainbow jersey. I feel for him. No one works harder for longer than Erik. You see him pushing from February until October. It seems this guy never takes a break!

When I see riders like Erik, my second thought is usually for his family. We watched his son grow up on the podium when Erik was a staple in the green jersey.  Sure he gets paid a fair amount but at what cost? How many days is he on the road? How many days does he hold his son on his shoulders in the back yard?

_846234_zabel300.jpg

Therefore, when I read this, I nearly dropped out of my chair.

“I had the dream of becoming World Champion, and promised my son: If I get the title, then it’s your turn. I will have more time for you. I couldn’t have imagined to keep on riding. But now I will fulfil my contract through 2008”

Erik! I hope those are just words of a frustrated man immediatly post race. I also hope your son did not see/hear these words for the first time from the sports section of the local paper.

Call him. Now.

Leave a Reply

