Keep your day job Jim

I hope I’m good at what I do. Because, I am further reminded as to why I am not a writer. Today, Martin Dugard, a real writer, outlines clearly, concisely, and eloquently some of the overarching themes that are woven through the recent media attention to the various doping stories out there. To put it in one word, Lance.

Read the entry titled Swift Boating.

Why does virtually every doping story bring the reader to Lance Armstrong? I guess many feel that the general public believes the axiom “Where there is smoke, there is fire.” Therefore, I believe that people like Dick Pound are setting off smoke canisters and yelling “See! See! There must be fire there! Look at all that smoke!”

I have come to the conclusion that with all the cumulative investigative-hours put towards looking, there is nothing to find. Nothing can stay hidden under that pressure, ask Nixon.

As Mr. Dugard puts it; “Would Dick Pound’s life hold up to similar scrutiny?”

One Response to Keep your day job Jim

  1. Daniel M says:

    Jim,

    As Martin Dugard implies, Dick Pound (imagine growing up with that as your name!) would never hold up to the scrutiny that Lance Armstrong, Floyd Landis or Tyler Hamilton have had to experience.

    I don’t know how he did in the 1960 Olympic swimming competitions, but he strikes me as the kind of person who’s jealous of those who have the talent, drive and determination to make it to the top of their sport. Just a bit of arm-chair psychologizing on my part.

    I find it interesting that Mr. Pound has been moderating his comments lately, especially about Marion Jones and Floyd Landis. He’s certainly cut back on the vitriol. I wonder what’s going on with that. Then again, TBV has a link to a BBC Forum where the speculation is that it’s politics.

    Keep on writing. Take it from a wordsmith, you’re doing pretty darn well.

    – Daniel M. a/k/a Rant

Leave a Reply

