Mighty Thor strikes gold at La Vuelta.

Adding to his jersey collection, Thor Hushovd of Credit Agricole took the Golden Fleece from Carlos Sastre after the CSC rider punctured in the final two kilometers. Sastre recovered to get awarded the same time as the main peloton however Hushovd gained enough bonus seconds to remove the Maillot Oro from Sastre’s shoulders. Paolo Bettini took the sprint ahead of Hushovd, Luca Paolini of Liquigas, and Robbie McEwen of Davitamaon-Lotto. So, Robbie can be beat this year.

CSC with perhaps the strongest team for the Team Time Trial claimed the first stage and allowing Carlos Sastre to cross the line first to take the first leaders jersey of this year’s Vuelta.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: