The end of the line for Jakob Piil?

One very conspicious rider absent from the Vuelta team for CSC is super domestique, Jakob Piil. For years, Jakob has worked selflessly for his team. In 2004, I had the opportunity to meet Jakob during a training ride in Philadelphia prior to the USPRO race. I found Jakob to be as good a person as he is a rider. That year he won the most agressive rider in the Tour de France. He and Jens Voight are two class acts that bring nothing but good press to the sponsor, CSC. I would have loved to see Bjarne find a spot for him here.

Will we see Jakob in another kit next year?
jd11.jpg

Photo ©: Jonathan Devich/Cyclingnews.com

One Response to The end of the line for Jakob Piil?

  1. […] It looks like Director Tristan Hoffman is not just taking CSC kits and gear with him as he leaves for T-Mobile. He is taking Jakob Piil with him. Not surprising as I have been asking that question for a couple of weeks now. “This probably has been the hardest decision I’ve made in my career so far, because I’ve really enjoyed my time with Team CSC. I’ve been with this team since the beginning and watched it grow. But if I’m to try something new in my career it has to be now.” […]

Leave a Reply

