Bjarne Riis to Ivan Basso, Can you stay at arms length?

I was once told that in life, you have no true friends or no true enemies. The reason is that people act in their own self interests. When those intrests align, then you are friends. The more I go through life, the more I see this advice playing out. People I thought were true friends surprise and dissapoint me. I am not cynical enough to buy the above saying fully but…

Another piece of evidence in the “true firends” argument is the case with CSC. In today’s procycling, Bjarne Riis has put clear distance betrween himself and Ivan Basso:

“I’m fighting to create a clean team, and thus a clean sport – that’s my goal. And if, even if Basso is cleared, there is even the slightest doubt remaining, there will be a cloud over the whole team and over me. That’s not good enough,”

Riis further goes down the road by saying:

“I find it hard to see a future for Basso at CSC – unless he is totally cleared. By that I mean that he has never been in contact with Fuentes, and that it isn’t him who figures on the doctor’s lists, either.

Ivan, sounds like the father figure that you turned down the Discovery money to be with, just told you to pack your bags.

3 Responses to Bjarne Riis to Ivan Basso, Can you stay at arms length?

  1. Its sad. I wish the best of luck to Ivan, he is a nice kid. CSC should support him.

  2. […] With Ivan Basso looking as though he will walk away from Operation Puerto invistagation, Bjarne Riis has modified his tone a bit. Early in the furor over the investigation, Bjarne was quoted as saying: “I’m fighting to create a clean team, and thus a clean sport – that’s my goal. And if, even if Basso is cleared, there is even the slightest doubt remaining, there will be a cloud over the whole team and over me. That’s not good enough.” […]

  3. […] What happened at the Tour of Lombardy? It seemed that after Bjarne’s initial reaction to Basso’s possible involvement in Operation Puerto, their relationship had begun to mend. […]

Leave a Reply

