Thanks Wade, again…..

Man, we all need editors like Wade. In a previous post, I mentioned a thought that has been kicking around in my head for a year now. I mentioned that the thought occured to me initially while I was talking to a former member of Mario Cipollini’s lead out train. I remember the moment. When Wade introduced me to him, I acted like a cycling groupie and blurted out how dominant the Saeco train was. The problem was, when typing out the blog entry, I forgot the gentleman’s last name. I knew his first name was Eros.

So Wade reminds me that his last name is Poli. Eros Poli. By the way, if you meet him, he likes to hear about the days when no one got off the front when Saeco took the reins. That post also gave Wade some scary flashback moments. To quote Wade:

All I remember is how fast he drove me on the 55KM time trial course in Saint Etienne.

Now, close your eyes. Picture a professional cyclist. Now open them and look at the picture below. One of the people is Stuart O’Grady. Supplied by a cool cycling blog (also provided by Wade). The Grenoble Cycling Pages.

dauphine06-s4-012.jpg

Pop quiz. What did Eros do that Lance Armstrong never did?

Hint, Lance tried and never succeeded.

Second hint, Lance says that is his one regret of his cycling career.

Answer

He won on Mt Ventoux! Want to know how pathetic I am? I remember that day. I remember cheering for the anti-climber to win on the climber’s mountain!

dauphine06-s2-024.jpg

The 1994 winner over the Mont Ventoux, Eros Poli, discusses his restaruant in Verona with Daniel Mangeas

4 Responses to Thanks Wade, again…..

  1. nalts says:

    Ummmmm. Went to the moon?

  2. pelotonjim says:

    Close my good friend. Mt. Ventoux surface has been compared to the lunar surface.

  3. PV says:

    Hey hey,

    Actually, he didn’t ! The finish line was set in Carpentras (about 40 km farther). But he was the first to pass over the Mt. Ventoux and he did a really performance that day.

    byeeee

    PV

  4. pelotonjim says:

    True. Good catch PV.

Leave a Reply

