End of Summer Reading

In know it is mid August and summer is almost over but here are my excuses:

  1. I just started this blog a couple of weeks ago
  2. Floyd Landis
  3. Operation Puerto
  4. Floyd Landis

Therefore, here is my cycling reading list in order of enjoyment. I picked this list due to the entertainment factor of summer reading. These are good reads that can be enjoyed in chunks at an airport, beach, or wherever. The only exception is the first, Lance Armstrong’s War. It’s just that good.

  • Lance Armstrong’s War by Daniel Coyle. This is by far the most objective book on Lance. You will see a glimpse into the very complex character that is Lance Armstrong. This is not written by someone who thinks Lance walks on water or someone who is out to get him. Great read regardless of your position on him.
  • The Rider by Tim Krabbe. A cult classic that gets inside the racers mind. Wonderfully written and translated.
  • French Revolutions: Cycling the Tour de France. More of a tour of France then a Tour de France. Funny and fun.
  • Heft on Wheels by Mike Magnuson. What happens when an addictive personality finds the bike? The journey is worth it. His wife must be a saint.
  • The Race by Dave Shields. A fictional novel with cycling as the backdrop. Good beach-reading material. You will move through this quickly. This, unlike many novels, was written by someone who understands the mindset of a professional cyclist. Dave has written a sequel to this novel that I am about to read.
  • Greg Moody’s series. By lumping the series of books outlining the adventures of Will Ross, I don’t want to diminish them. They are funny, irreverent (a little slow at times) but worth the read. Try Perfect Circles and find out.

In the separate category of bathroom reading, try:

In the category of both back to school and kids reading, I highly recommend:

  • Go Fly a Bike by Bill Haduch. Bill teaches kids history and science using the bike. My suggestion is your child should be about 9 to understand and read the book. If your child is younger, there are quite a few sections that you can read and explain. That’s what I did. My children were excited to spend time with me and bonding over my passion. Now they can “talk shop” with me and hit me with “Did you know?” questions that create some priceless moments.

Use the comments section to give feedback on these titles and provide your own recommendations!

6 Responses to End of Summer Reading

  1. […] Have you decided on your science project yet? Well, you better start preparing! Why not take one of the most enjoyable past times and take a look at it through the eyes of a scientist? What you will find is that the bicycle is as interesting to study as it is to ride. In my Summer Reading post, I mentioned a great book that explores the history and science of the bicycle. The book is called Go Fly a Bike. […]

  2. Dave Shields says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed The Race. I look forward to hearing what you think of The Tour. Just wait until you see my next project!
    Tailwinds,
    Dave Shields

  3. pelotonjim says:

    I jst got The Tour in the mail. I am finishing Chasing Lance and look forward to beginning The Tour.

  4. […] In order to generate the motivation to exit the bed before the sun exits its bed, I amass some reading material that creates a longing for the days when I can return full gas to the outdoors.  The type of material is slightly different than my End of Summer collection.  That is about entertainment, Fall/winter is about romance.  “Romancing the bike” […]

  5. […] level. After I’m done reading, I will give you my feedback as I have done in the past such as here and […]

  6. Chris says:

    “Heft on Wheels” – YES! I thought that was a great book – I think Magnuson is hilarious and I really admire how he turned his life around, then had the talent to describe it so well.

    And it’s funny you mentioned the “Dancing on the Pedals” book as bathroom reading – I got that for Christmas and it’s in ‘the office’ as we speak(!)

    Thanks for posting such good reviews – there are a few here I hadn’t heard of and a few I’d been thinking about and now will definitely add to my list-to-get.

Leave a Reply

