DVD Review

Like many of you, I hate the trainer. The worst day on the calendar is when I have to remove my skewer and screw on the trainer skewer. With each revolution, I feel my mood darkening. Then when I take the walk to the basement, I can hear the line from The Green Mile. “Walking the mile, walking the mile.”

I have gilded my cage with a TV and DVD player that are designed to keep me just this side of sanity line. Each season, I bring a fresh new stack of DVDs to the basement to set the right mood. The 2009 Tour and Giro join stalwarts like Breaking Away and the one day classics on the play list. They help pass the time but I still have many days where I stare at the cyclycomputer wondering why time passes sooo slowly. This year I added a new DVD to the list and I want to tell you about it. That movie is called Bicycle Dreams.

The film by Stephen Auerbach chronicles the 2005 Race Across America. As I mentioned above , I watch a lot of cycling videos I have seen many riders in their share of pain. This was different. Riders ride over 300 miles a day forgoing sleep for almost two weeks and their pain is mental. To watch a determined stare go vacant in the matter of a few days, touched me. The most compelling scene was when Jure Robic, who had all but won the race, wanted to quit because he could not call up an image of his wife and child.

Lance Armstrong is quoted in the movie saying extreme athletes are running away from something. I saw much of that. Others I saw running towards something. There are many stories in this race and not all of them have a happy ending. In any RAAM, approximately half do not finish. The most tragic is that of Dr. Bob Breedlove who thought each day was “another day in paradise.”

Mr. Auerbach’s movie has garnered multiple film awards and received rave reviews from national publications including USAToday. All I can add to this list of reviews is that I could not turn the movie off. I set out to ride an easy 45 minutes to an hour on the trainer. I ended up doing riding the full length, including the credits. I never even glanced at my computer for a time check.

This is a must have on your winter DVD list.

One Response to DVD Review

  1. Bryan says:

    Great review. I just started on the trainer for the first time a couple of weeks ago. A DVD and stack of movies should be required equipment. I don’t have any cycling DVDs, except The Flying Dutchman, so I need to get some.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

