What does ASO do with Astana now?

June 3, 2008

You have to think that ASO president Patrice Clerk and his lieutenant Christian Prudhomme are wringing their hands after the defending Tour de France Champion Alberto Contador won the Giro D’Italia.

I figured I would take a look at the reasons given for excluding Astana from this year’s tour. In order to do that, I’ll pull some Shakespearean quotes. Why Shakespeare? Well, as my high school English teacher said. “Shakespeare loves a bloodbath.”

Back on February 13th, Christian Prudhomme announced that Astana and Contador would stay home this July. His reason?

“The damage caused by this team to the Tour de France and cycling in general, both in 2006 and 2007 led to their exclusion.”

Hmm. So T-Mobile who had two past winners involved in doping will also be excluded?

“What’s in a name? That which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet.”

T-Mobile first cleaned house. But, so did Astana. Ah, T-Mobile changed it’s name. That must be it. Teams that keep their name are excluded.

CINNA THE POET
Truly, my name is Cinna.

First Citizen
Tear him to pieces; he’s a conspirator.

CINNA THE POET
I am Cinna the poet, I am Cinna the poet.

Fourth Citizen
Tear him for his bad verses, tear him for his bad verses.

CINNA THE POET
I am not Cinna the conspirator.

Fourth Citizen
It is no matter, his name’s Cinna; pluck but his
name out of his heart, and turn him going.

I guess, just like the play Julius Caesar Astana is being killed only for their name. But wait, What about Cofidis? This group did not change their name?

I’ll end with a quote from The Taming of the Shrew.

“Asses are made to bear, and so are you”


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers