Reflections of the way life used to be.

To start off, I want to say thank you. Thanks to everyone who has stopped by here since I started writing back in July. Back then, I wondered what I would write about all year long. Then after three days post live, I was given my answer. That’s when the Floyd Landis story broke. The rest, as they say, is history. 

Thanks to those who clicked through to other sites like Trust but Verify, Rant your Head off and Will Video for Food. And finally, thanks to everyone who left comments. Nielsen released an interesting factoid yesterday. Web 2.0 is the most searched Wikipedia term. Web 2.0 is all about user created media and community. Wikipedia is the poster child for Web 2.0. In the Web 2.0 phenomena is online video like You Tube and Revver, and of course blogs.

Blogs have exploded this past year. A few years ago, you found a few blogs that contained missives about cereal, a cat, and what to wear on a 50 degree day in January. Today, you have well researched and written essays. Regardless of your interests, there are blogs that will cater to that interest in a thought provoking manner. Just look at the blogs mentioned above. Who would have thought such brain power would focus on the international cycling scene and one young man from Farmersville, PA. Who would have thought that a blog (TBV), only several weeks old would break a news story on the T:E ratios of Floyd Landis and spark off a thoughtful debate on the subject.

So, thank you for including me in your daily readings. I do have to say, not everyone is happy with Web 2.0. Joel Stein of the L.A. Times thinks we have gone too far. The above link requires a free registration so the LA Times can talk to us but it seems that is a one way conversation. From Joel:

I don’t want to talk to you; I want to talk at you. A column is not my attempt to engage in a conversation with you. I have more than enough people to converse with. And I don’t listen to them either. That sound on the phone, Mom, is me typing.

I get that you have opinions you want to share. That’s great. You’re the Person of the Year. I just don’t have any interest in them. First of all, I did a tiny bit of research for my column, so I’m already familiar with your brilliant argument. Second, I’ve already written my column, so I can’t even steal your ideas and get paid for them.

There is no practical reason to send your rants to me. If you want to counter my opinion publicly, write a letter to the editor. If you want me fired, write a letter to the publisher. If you want a note back, write a letter in lipstick on the bathroom mirror. Or you could just write mean things about my column on some blog. Don’t worry, I’ll see them. I have a “Joel Stein” RSS feed that goes straight into my arteries.

That’s OK too. I’ll still drop by Joel and we’ll converse the old fashioned way. I’ll read you, and I ‘ll complain to my family about how off base you are. I’ll adopt the exasperated tone my father has when reading the newspaper. “Honey, can you believe this? Can you believe they waste ink and kill trees to print this stuff? I have a good mind to write him a letter.”

But I won’t

5 Responses to Reflections of the way life used to be.

  1. nalts says:

    Ewww. That quote from Joel Stein gives me gas. Can you imagine those paragraphs being your legacy?

  2. pelotonjim says:

    Let’s start an email campaign to Joel.

  3. Debby says:

    With an attitude like that, he’s going to be left behind quite soon. There are too many bloggers, podcasters, and YouTubers (pardon the bad grammar) in each of their communities to pay much attention to people with the Web 1.0 perspective. Instead of the media perpetuating a false reality (ie Isn’t Pat McQuaid wonderful, etc?), the internet communities know differently. And they’re not going to buy it, or his paper, for that matter, if he keeps it up.

    Happy New Year, and thanks for sharing your thoughts with us!

  4. pelotonjim says:

    Happy New Year as well Debby. I think the newspaper is probably the last bastion for people who lament the “good old days.” If I were in the newspaper business, I would be very worried. By the time a paper comes, any relevant news has been blogged, Foxed, Networked, and otherwise webbed to death.

    Heck, the Wall Street Journal is in the process of eliminating the stock quotes from their paper since no one reads that section anymore.

    Good luck Joel, see you on the bread line.

  5. […] a couple of weeks ago, I posted an editorial by Joel Stein from the LA Times. What he didn’t get is that while he banged on […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

