How often do you clean your chain?

I think we know each other well enough to start asking these type of personal questions.

I received an email from a friend alerting me to a new product introduced into the US recently.  I’ve never seen anything like it and I’m not sure if it one more in a line of products aimed at taking advantage of my inherent laziness with regard to the details of life.

Every spring, I tune up my bike.  A nice expensive professional TLC session.  In usually do the home version in the fall. In between, I usually lube my chain when sitting after a ride I say to myself, “Oh damn, when was the last time I took care of my chain?”

Now I see the Scott Oiler Active Fluid System.  Interesting concept.  You replace the lower pulley with a pulley that infuses lube onto your chain.  This will remove the “Oh damn!” moment allowing me to continue listening to Phil and Paul in my head as they interview me following my demonstration of dancing on the pedals.

I’m not worried about the extra weight as I carry enough of that on my body for several systems.  I just don’t know yet.  What do you all think?

rearderailleur.jpg

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

