Out of the valley of death

I shall walk through the valley of the shadow of death… In fact, now that I think of it, I shall run through the valley of the shadow of death, cos’ you get out of the valley quicker that way. Woddy Allen “Love and Death” (1975)

Occasionally, I get a bit frustrated with things and my wit tends to take a darker tone.  With all the media trying to paint this as a sport full of back room drug dealers and dopers, I’ve gotten a bit worn down.  My last few posts show that “snarky” side. Thanks TBV for the addition to my vocabulary.

Well, I’m determined to run out of this funk and what better way than looking at some really cool bikes. And for that, I turn to the Broadband Racer. At Interbike, the cameras found two cool bikes that are high on my drool list. The Cervelo R3SL and the Orbea Orca.

Broadbandracer

Enjoy! I am looking to upgrade in the spring of 2007. I’d like to find a way to get one of these machines and keep my marriage. Any suggestions?

5 Responses to Out of the valley of death

  1. tbv says:

    I like the Cervelo if you want wicked, brutal, cost-effective engineering efficiency. On the other hand, the Orbea has beautiful paint, and oozes sex appeal in a way a Cervelo doesn’t.

    I got my kid an orbea carerra before it was discontinued largely because of the paint. But I’m a cheap bastard, and would probably do an R3/Chorus for myself if I were buying a new one.

    -dB

  2. pelotonjim says:

    Thanks. I’ve been leaning towards the Cervelo myself until I saw the paint design on the Orca. Wow.

    Even if I cheap out, I will still enjoy the journey.

  3. Madtrack says:

    Jim,

    Did you check out the SCOTT Addict spot on thebroadbandracer? That thing is at the top of my list now. Any ideas why Orbea and Cervelo didn’t go with an integrated seat post? Is there some major downside to it (other than limiting resale to someone exaclty your size1).

  4. tbv says:

    “Any ideas why Orbea and Cervelo didn’t go with an integrated seat post? Is there some major downside to it (other than limiting resale to someone exaclty your size1).”

    Whoa, that’s no small point — and you can get a cervelo TT bike with an integral if you really want it. I can’t believe anyone who is not racking up UCI points needs an integral seat post except as an ego boost.

    -dB

  5. pelotonjim says:

    Madtrack, TBV. I think you both asked and answered your own questions. The Scott is fantastic and perfectly named. “addict” But I think the seat post is the downside.

    But tbv, never underestimate the wow factor when your friends notice the seat post.

    Ah, the journey is so fun. I am beginning to understand the allure my wife finds in shopping. The hunt may be better than the catch.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

