If it wasn’t for bad luck, I’d have no luck at all

October 19, 2006

That’s why I say if everybody went to heaven
Hey-ey-ey, I believe I’d miss the call
But you see if it wasn’t for bad luck,
Trying to tell you son if it wasn’t for bad luck, now now
Oh, oh, I wouldn’t have no luck at all
Would you believe I wouldn’t have no luck at all

From Ray Charles

Poor Jan Ullrich. It seems that these days this guy can’t catch a break. We all know his trials and tribulations of being the only rider left in the crosshairs of Operation Puerto. He has been fired, his house has been raided while on his honeymoon, and now he seems to be the only one who can not find neutrality in Switzerland.

Jan has released a statement stating that he is leaving the Swiss racing federation:

“For months, officials in Swiss Cycling and the Swiss Olympic Committee have been attacking me with their contradictory statements and media campaigns against me. The trust is now broken. This break with Swiss Cycling doesn’t mean that my career is over: I’m in contact with other federations about the possibility of obtaining a licence for 2007.”

On top of that, we have received an email recently sent to der Kaiser.

—–Original Message—–
From: Johan
Sent: Sunday, October 15, 2006 7:01 PM
To: Jan
Subject: Team Kit

 

Jan:

Thanks for your phone calls. I did receive all of your messages. My apologies in not getting back to you sooner. I’m sure you can understand that I’ve been real busy these days.

I just wanted to let you know that we are not going to pursue a contract with you for 2007. We have tendered an offer to Ivan Basso. Given tight budgets, well you know. Speaking of tight budgets, we would like to have back the kit we sent over to you. You can find the return instructions below:

Returning by mail:

1) Send the item(s) and original receipt via UPS or insured mail to:
DiscoveryStore.com Returns
8145 Holton Drive
Florence, KY 41042:

2) Complete the back of the packing slip that came with your item(s).:

Thanks in advance and good luck in 2007

Regards,

Johan

 

 


Will there be l’amour for Lamour?

October 19, 2006

Well, there is no love lost between WADA boss Dick Pound and…. well, anyone. Word comes through Trust but Verify that Mr. Pound will step down as WADA chief inquisitor in November 2007 when his current term expires.
The early favorite for the spot is Frenchman Jean-Francois Lamour. Lamour is a politician and former Olympic double gold meadalist. He is expected to receive some stiff competition from Eastern bloc favorite and current Russian sports minister Viacheslav Fetisov.

What if the US is the deciding vote? heh heh.

When asked by Endless Cycle whom he would like as a successor, Dick Pound replied:

“Is Tomás de Torquemada available?”

torqmada.jpg


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers