Thanks Wade, again…..

August 15, 2006

Man, we all need editors like Wade. In a previous post, I mentioned a thought that has been kicking around in my head for a year now. I mentioned that the thought occured to me initially while I was talking to a former member of Mario Cipollini’s lead out train. I remember the moment. When Wade introduced me to him, I acted like a cycling groupie and blurted out how dominant the Saeco train was. The problem was, when typing out the blog entry, I forgot the gentleman’s last name. I knew his first name was Eros.

So Wade reminds me that his last name is Poli. Eros Poli. By the way, if you meet him, he likes to hear about the days when no one got off the front when Saeco took the reins. That post also gave Wade some scary flashback moments. To quote Wade:

All I remember is how fast he drove me on the 55KM time trial course in Saint Etienne.

Now, close your eyes. Picture a professional cyclist. Now open them and look at the picture below. One of the people is Stuart O’Grady. Supplied by a cool cycling blog (also provided by Wade). The Grenoble Cycling Pages.

dauphine06-s4-012.jpg

Pop quiz. What did Eros do that Lance Armstrong never did?

Hint, Lance tried and never succeeded.

Second hint, Lance says that is his one regret of his cycling career.

Answer

He won on Mt Ventoux! Want to know how pathetic I am? I remember that day. I remember cheering for the anti-climber to win on the climber’s mountain!

dauphine06-s2-024.jpg

The 1994 winner over the Mont Ventoux, Eros Poli, discusses his restaruant in Verona with Daniel Mangeas


No leader, no sponsor, no Phonak

August 15, 2006

Well, as I mentioned earlier, iShares talks a good game but didn’t back it up. Andy Rihs, who has worked harder than anyone to build a ProTour team is folding his tent. That’s a shame. From all accounts, he is the kind of person we want in this sport.

Here is the story from Procycling. Who will move up to take Phonak’s place? Comunidad Valenciana?


End of Summer Reading

August 15, 2006

In know it is mid August and summer is almost over but here are my excuses:

  1. I just started this blog a couple of weeks ago
  2. Floyd Landis
  3. Operation Puerto
  4. Floyd Landis

Therefore, here is my cycling reading list in order of enjoyment. I picked this list due to the entertainment factor of summer reading. These are good reads that can be enjoyed in chunks at an airport, beach, or wherever. The only exception is the first, Lance Armstrong’s War. It’s just that good.

  • Lance Armstrong’s War by Daniel Coyle. This is by far the most objective book on Lance. You will see a glimpse into the very complex character that is Lance Armstrong. This is not written by someone who thinks Lance walks on water or someone who is out to get him. Great read regardless of your position on him.
  • The Rider by Tim Krabbe. A cult classic that gets inside the racers mind. Wonderfully written and translated.
  • French Revolutions: Cycling the Tour de France. More of a tour of France then a Tour de France. Funny and fun.
  • Heft on Wheels by Mike Magnuson. What happens when an addictive personality finds the bike? The journey is worth it. His wife must be a saint.
  • The Race by Dave Shields. A fictional novel with cycling as the backdrop. Good beach-reading material. You will move through this quickly. This, unlike many novels, was written by someone who understands the mindset of a professional cyclist. Dave has written a sequel to this novel that I am about to read.
  • Greg Moody’s series. By lumping the series of books outlining the adventures of Will Ross, I don’t want to diminish them. They are funny, irreverent (a little slow at times) but worth the read. Try Perfect Circles and find out.

In the separate category of bathroom reading, try:

In the category of both back to school and kids reading, I highly recommend:

  • Go Fly a Bike by Bill Haduch. Bill teaches kids history and science using the bike. My suggestion is your child should be about 9 to understand and read the book. If your child is younger, there are quite a few sections that you can read and explain. That’s what I did. My children were excited to spend time with me and bonding over my passion. Now they can “talk shop” with me and hit me with “Did you know?” questions that create some priceless moments.

Use the comments section to give feedback on these titles and provide your own recommendations!


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers